Reflections

..of a peerless nincompoop

This day down the years

August 6th has got a significant place in the annals of world history. For some, it depicts pain while for some others it depicts gain. For some, it was the harbinger of doom while for others it was the harbinger of glory. Historians across the globe have talked a lot about it. I don’t think I need to talk about it, or that I am qualified enough to talk about it.

I am here to talk about less significant things that nobody else will talk about. This day, four years ago, I had just started the seventh semester of my B.Tech. This was the day, on which I attended the first job interview of my life. This was the day, on which I got the first job offer of my life. The day on which my name appeared atop a small list of 5 people. I consider this as a lucky day, the day on which I found my place among the first few who got job offers from my batch. Though I didn’t take up that job at Tata Elxsi, my luck in interviews continue to this day. I have never fumbled a job interview till date and I hope I continue like that. I should thank my teachers and friends who helped me to be what I am.

I was unemployed four years ago. But there was no uncertainity or insecurity. I didn’t have any work experience. But still I was very confident. What have I achieved in these four years? Today I am unemployed, though I left my job at my wish. I know it is very easy to get a job now. I am as confident, if not more, as I was four years ago. However, I feel the so called insecurity. A jobless 24 year old is a lot different from a jobless 20 year old. Responsibility and 3 more years of life brings a lot of change. In hindsight, I wasted lots of opportunities. I never tried as hard as I should have. I have been lazy from the time I can remember.

I want to be a bit less lazy from now on. For myself, for the people I love and for the people who love me.

Disclaimer: I will still be lazy enough to sleep that extra hour in the morning or do things like this

August 6, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

22 Comments »

  1. You owe some explanation as to what you are going to do next ..

    Comment by George Scaria | August 6, 2006 | Reply

  2. Hm. 20 to 24 in 3 years? That’s something 😀

    Comment by vanchi | August 7, 2006 | Reply

  3. @scaria
    Keep your fingers crossed. Updates to come as new posts later 😀

    Comment by kv | August 7, 2006 | Reply

  4. @Vanchi
    We were doing seventh semester B.Tech four years ago. 20 to 24 in 4 years is quite natural, no? 😀

    Comment by kv | August 7, 2006 | Reply

  5. heh, u stil havent found out how to upload pics? paranju taaa!

    Comment by Alamelu | August 7, 2006 | Reply

  6. India-de labham
    America-de nashttam
    Allaathe enthu parayaan 😀

    Comment by Geo | August 8, 2006 | Reply

  7. @Geo
    Othukkiyallo 😕
    @Alamelu
    Check your mail :D. I haven’t tried it. Got it from karram and forwarded it to you 😀

    Comment by kv | August 8, 2006 | Reply

  8. August 6 – Hiroshima Bombing and Kiron gets employed.

    Btw, would it attract you to the theory of Computer Science to hear that Manindra Agarwal et.al. announced “Primes are in P” on the same day?

    Comment by George Scaria | August 8, 2006 | Reply

  9. To be precise, it’s on the same day – 2002 August 6.

    Comment by George Scaria | August 8, 2006 | Reply

  10. @Scaria
    Don’t confuse me with greek and latin :D.

    Comment by kv | August 14, 2006 | Reply

  11. Ok, we will elaborate.

    There are several complexity classes of algorithms for computational problems; like Polynomial(P), NP and others. It was a long standing problem in theoretical computer science to prove that the problem of deciding whether a number is prime or not is doable in polynomial time. On the day you got job, Manindra Agarwal – a prof at IIT Kanpur – and two of his students announced a proof, which event found enough importance to be included in the wikipedia page of events on August 8, and which gave much status to IITK among the world’s centers in computer science. His students thereafter went stright to princeton and the best Ph.D graduates from India are moving to that department – for example. Piyush P. Kurur, RECian, Ph. D. from here and who I had the honour to share an office with for a short time.

    So, will it interest you in theoretical computer science to hear that all this happened on that day? I am as ignoramus as you on this topic, all these big words are courtesy of Piyush .. [:)]

    Comment by George Scaria | August 16, 2006 | Reply

  12. Seeing the comment(???) above, I’m a lil confused.. Where am I ? :-S

    Comment by Rat | September 3, 2006 | Reply

  13. If you find out where you are, just let me know. Even I am confused seeing all these comments 🙂

    Comment by kv | September 5, 2006 | Reply

  14. These days, some terrorists are doing the new technique of blog hijacking …….

    Comment by George Scaria | September 9, 2006 | Reply

  15. This blog is still alive?
    Da what about enabling live bookmark. Guess lekha has enabled the same for her blog.

    Comment by VImal | October 2, 2006 | Reply

  16. Waiting for some free time to restart blogging. Friends, please come here once in a while [:)]

    @Vimal
    your request will be considered when I get a bit of free time. [:)]

    Comment by kv | November 9, 2006 | Reply

  17. vallathum ezhuthade. Take some time out of the slog-fest and say hi to friends 😉

    Comment by bookseeker | December 25, 2006 | Reply

  18. And ya, Happy Christmas too 🙂

    Comment by bookseeker | December 25, 2006 | Reply

  19. Why dont you start writing again ?

    Comment by karram | March 16, 2007 | Reply

  20. pooooooi

    Comment by lekha | June 8, 2007 | Reply

  21. Watch our for new posts. Will be writing soon 🙂

    Comment by kv | June 9, 2007 | Reply

  22. u write well dude 🙂

    Comment by sonia | September 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

